Prime Minister Harper announces nominee for Supreme Court appointment

Prime Minister Harper with the Minister of Justice.
Ottawa, Ontario
23 February 2006

Prime Minister Stephen Harper and Justice Minister Vic Toews today announced Marshall Rothstein as the Government’s nominee for the Supreme Court of Canada.  Mr. Marshall Rothstein, a Federal Court of Appeal judge from Manitoba, was selected from the short-list presented to the previous Government.

“Marshall Rothstein’s candidacy was scrutinized by a comprehensive process initiated by the previous Government that included members from all the political parties,” said Prime Minister Harper.  “I believe he has the qualifications necessary to serve Canadians well from the country’s highest court.”

Mr. Rothstein has agreed to answer questions from an ad hoc all-party committee on Monday, February 27.  The televised hearing will mark the first time in Canadian history that a Supreme Court nominee will face questions from Members of Parliament.

“I am looking forward to watching the ad hoc committee’s work and listening to Mr. Rothstein’s answers.  This hearing marks an unprecedented step towards the more open and accountable approach to nominations that Canadians deserve,” concluded the Prime Minister.

Please see below the curriculum vitae for further information on Mr. Rothstein.

For more information on the Government’s reformed process to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Justice John Major, visit:

For the full dossier being provided to members of the Ad Hoc Committee to Review a Nominee for the Supreme Court of Canada, visit:

* * * * * * * * * *


Personal and Education Information
Born December 25, 1940 in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Educated at Winnipeg schools and University of Manitoba. B. Com. 1962, LL.B. 1966. Called to the Bar of Manitoba in 1966. Married June 12, 1966 to Sheila Dorfman of Montreal, four children, Ronald, Douglas, Tracey and Robert and two grandchildren.

Practice Information
Associate Thorvaldson, Eggertson, Saunders and Mauro, 1966-1969, associate Aikins, MacAulay & Thorvaldson 1969-1972, partner Aikins, MacAulay & Thorvaldson 1972-1972, member and periodic Chairman of Management Committee/Executive Board 1981-1992. Appointed Q.C. 1979. Practised in the areas of Administrative Law and Litigation, primarily Transportation and Competition Law, Labour and commercial arbitrator. Adjudicator, Manitoba Human Rights Act 1978-1983. Member, Canadian Human Rights Tribunal 1986-1992. Appeared before federal and Manitoba Administrative Tribunals, Manitoba Court of Queen’s Bench, Court of Appeal, Federal Court of Canada – Trial and Appeal Divisions, and Supreme Court of Canada.

Teaching Information
Lecturer, Transportation Law, University of Manitoba, Faculty of Law 1970-1983, 1988-1992. Lecturer, Contract Law, University of Manitoba, Extension Department 1970-1975.
Bar Admission Course Lecturer, Law Society of Manitoba 1970-1975.

Legal Aid Information
Secretary (Administrator), Civil Legal Aid Committee, Law Society of Manitoba 1968-1970.

Commissions of Inquiry
Chairman, Commission on Compulsory Retirement (Manitoba) 1981-1982.
Chairman, Ministerial Task Force on International Air Policy (Canada) 1990-1991.

Committee Participation Information
Member, Manitoba Transportation Industry Development Advisory Committee 1985-1987, and Chairman 1987-1990. Member, Airports Task Force 1985-1986. Member, Airports Transfer Advisory Board 1988-1992. Member, External Advisory Committee, University of Manitoba Transport Institute 1989-1992.

Judicial Career
Judge of the Federal Court of Canada, Trial Division and member ex officio Appeal Division June 24, 1992 to January 20, 1999. Appointed Judge of the Court Martial Appeal Court of Canada October 29, 1992.  Judicial member of the Competition Tribunal May 31, 1993 to January 20, 1999. Appointed Judge of the Federal Court of Canada – Appeal Division, January 21, 1999. Appointed Member of Committees and Special Committees (NAFTA) Regulations, November 15, 2004.

NOTE: With the coming into force, on July 2, 2003, of the Courts Administration Service Act, the appeal and trial divisions of the Federal Court of Canada became separate entities known as the Federal Court of Appeal and the Federal Court. At that time, Mr. Justice Rothstein became a judge of the Federal Court of Appeal.