Ottawa, Ontario - December 14, 2017

The Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, today welcomed the appointment of Raymond Théberge as the new Commissioner of Official Languages.

This appointment, which was recently approved by the House of Commons and the Senate, is effective January 29, 2018.

The Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages was created in 1970 under the Official Languages Act to protect and promote linguistic duality. The Commissioner of Official Languages is an Agent of Parliament appointed for a term of seven years.

Mr. Théberge was chosen as the nominee for the position of Commissioner of Official Languages through the Government’s open, transparent, and merit-based appointment process.

Biographical Notes

Associated Link