(Vancouver Quadra)

Joyce Murray was first elected to Parliament in 2008. She has served on a number of standing committees including of Trade, Health, Fisheries and Oceans, Environment and Sustainable Development, and Defence, as well as being the critic for National Defence. She is currently a member of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, the Standing Committee on Public Accounts and the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates.

Ms. Murray private members bills and motions included a crude oil tanker traffic ban on British Columbia’s North Coast, and increasing the accountability and transparency of Canada’s security agencies.

Before entering federal politics, Ms. Murray was elected to British Columbia’s Legislative Assembly, where she served as a cabinet minister in the Liberal government from 2001 to 2005. Her political career followed 25 years spent building an international reforestation company she co-founded that has planted over one billion trees. Her interest in environmental sustainability was expressed in her master’s thesis on global warming, which contributed to her receiving the Simon Fraser University Dean's Convocation Medal for top MBA graduate of 1992.

Ms. Murray has served as a Parliamentary Secretary since 2015, and is currently the Parliamentary Secretary to the President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Digital Government.