Ottawa, Ontario
October 17, 2016

Frequently Asked Questions

A. Applicants:

1. How many applicants were there and how many were from Atlantic Canada?

The Independent Advisory Board (IAB) will report on this information one month from the date of the appointment.

2. Were any applicants encouraged to apply?

Under the new appointment process announced by the Prime Minister of Canada, any qualified Canadian lawyer or judge had to formally apply to the Independent Advisory Board for Supreme Court of Canada Judicial Appointments for appointment to the Supreme Court of Canada.  As part of this open and transparent process, anyone could encourage people to apply by reviewing the publicly available qualifications and assessment criteria, including qualifications required by statute and other criteria http://www.fja-cmf.gc.ca/scc-csc/qualifications-eng.html.

B. Independent Advisory Board:

3. What was the Independent Advisory Board’s process?

The Independent Advisory Board (IAB) considered all applications received through the Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs. The IAB assessed potential candidates based on publicly available qualifications and assessment criteria, including qualifications required by statute and other criteria http://www.fja-cmf.gc.ca/scc-csc/qualifications-eng.html.  The IAB considered the custom of regional representation on the Court as one of the factors, in order to identify qualified candidates who are jurists of the highest calibre, functionally bilingual, and representative of the diversity of Canada. The IAB consulted with the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and other key stakeholders on the potential nominees.

4. What criteria were used?

All candidates were required to satisfy the statutory criteria set out in the Supreme Court Act, namely that they are or have been a judge ‎of a superior court of a province or a barrister or advocate of at least ten years standing at the bar of a province. It was also required that they be functionally bilingual.

Candidates were assessed on the following personal skills and experience: demonstrated superior knowledge of the law; superior analytical skills; ability to resolve complex legal problems; awareness of, and the ability to synthesize information about, the social context in which legal disputes arise; clarity of thought, particularly as demonstrated through written expression; the ability to work under significant time pressures requiring diligent review of voluminous materials in any area of law; and a commitment to public service.

Applicants were also assessed on the following personal qualities: irreproachable personal and professional integrity; respect and consideration for others; the ability to appreciate a diversity of views, perspectives, and life experiences, including those relating to historically disadvantaged groups in Canadian society; moral courage; discretion; and open-mindedness.

Finally, the Independent Advisory Board considered the following institutional needs of the court: ensuring a reasonable balance between public and private law expertise, bearing in mind the historic patterns of distribution between those areas in Supreme Court appeals; expertise in any specific subject matter that regularly features in appeals and is currently under-represented on the court; and ensuring that members of the Supreme Court are reasonably reflective of the diversity of Canadian society.

5. How was functional bilingualism assessed in the Independent Advisory Board process?

Candidates indicated on their application package their proficiency in both official languages. The Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs conducted individual assessments of some candidates to ascertain their understanding of written and oral arguments, as well as to determine whether candidates have the ability to speak in both official languages.

6. What weight was regional representation given in the Independent Advisory Board selection process?

Regional representation was a factor for consideration. This was made clear in the publicly posted criteria, including the commitment to appoint judges who are functionally bilingual. The selection process included an appropriate degree of flexibility to balance the overlap between institutional needs with individual skills, experience and qualities of candidates themselves.

7. How many names did the Independent Advisory Board recommend to the Prime Minister?

A shortlist of 5 candidates was submitted.

C. Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada process:

8. What process did the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada follow?

The Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada underwent a rigorous and exhaustive jurisprudential and academic review of each candidate. She also engaged in robust consultations with the Chief Justice of Canada, the Chair of the Independent Advisory Board, the relevant Attorneys General, members of the Cabinet, members of the House Justice and Human Rights Committee, members of the Senate Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee and the Opposition Justice Critics.

9. What stakeholders were consulted?

The Government engaged with all official parties in the House of Commons to ensure that the process of appointing Supreme Court of Canada justices was open, transparent, and set a higher standard for accountability. During the establishment of the Independent Advisory Board, the Government consulted with representatives from the judiciary and the legal community, including: the Canadian Judicial Council, the Canadian Bar Association, the Federation of Law Societies of Canada and the Council of Canadian Law Deans. Further, the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada engaged with prominent and well respected Canadians from outside the legal community. More information will be available in the Independent Advisory Board’s Report.

D. Nominee:

10. If the nominee is successful what would the length of their appointment and salary be?

Justices of the Supreme Court of Canada receive an annual salary of $373,900 (as of April 1, 2016) and hold office during good behaviour until the age of 75.

11. Did anything controversial come up in the vetting of the nominee?

All nominees underwent exhaustive assessments by the Independent Advisory Board and the Minister of Justice and screening by Canadian security authorities. Elements of their assessment and screening included:

  • Assessment  of the their personal qualities against the following criteria: irreproachable personal and professional integrity; respect and consideration for others; the ability to appreciate a diversity of views, perspectives, and life experiences, including those relating to historically disadvantaged groups in Canadian society; moral courage; discretion; and open-mindedness.
  • A complete review of the candidate’s jurisprudence, academic writing and professional publications.
  • An intensive security background check.

The successful nominee passed all these assessments and screenings.

12. Did the nominee undergo a thorough security check prior to their nomination?

All candidates were required to submit to a 4-way background check, as set out in the background screening consent form accessed via the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs web site.

E. Special Justice and Human Rights Committee Hearing

13. What is the hearing for?

The hearing is to provide Parliamentarians the opportunity to better understand: (1) the due diligence and consultation process used by our Government; and, (2) the reasons why this nominee was selected.  In so doing, it will provide Canadians an opportunity to better understand this nominee and the role and function of the Supreme Court of Canada as well as the Government's commitment to openness, transparency, and diversity to ensuring that our judiciary maintains its reputation of excellence. ‎

14. Who will be participating?

The Honourable Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada Jody Wilson-Raybould and the Chair of the Independent Advisory Board for Supreme Court of Canada Judicial Appointments the Right Honourable Kim Campbell will be in attendance.

Members of the House Justice Committee will be able to ask questions of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and the Chair of the Independant Advisory Board.

F.  QA Session with the Nominee

15. What is the upcoming QA session with the nominee for?

It will provide an opportunity for Canadians to get to know the nominee to our country's highest court.

16. Where will it take place?

The nominee will take part in a townhall session moderated by a law professor at the University of Ottawa on October 25, 2016.

17. Who is allowed to attend?

Parliamentarians, special guests and law students from across the country.

18. Who will be allowed to ask the nominee questions?

The following Parliamentarians may ask questions: members of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights; members of the Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs; and, certain members of the Bloc Québécois and the Green Party.

19. How was the event’s moderator selected?

The Prime Minister will select the moderator.

Ottawa (Ontario)
17 octobre 2016

Foire aux questions

A. Candidatures

1. Combien y a-t-il eu de candidatures et combien y en a-t-il eu en provenance des provinces atlantiques du Canada?

Le Comité consultatif indépendant (CCI) fera état de cette information un mois après la date de la nomination.

2. Est-ce que certaines personnes ont été invitées à poser leur candidature?

Dans le cadre du nouveau processus de nomination annoncé par le premier ministre du Canada, tout avocat ou juge canadien qualifié qui souhaitait poser officiellement sa candidature à la Cour suprême du Canada devait le faire auprès du Comité consultatif indépendant sur les nominations des juges à la Cour suprême du Canada. Dans le cadre de ce nouveau processus ouvert et transparent, toute personne pouvait encourager d’autres personnes à poser leur candidature en tenant compte des qualifications et critères d’évaluation rendus publics, y compris les qualifications exigées par la loi et d’autres critères http://www.fja-cmf.gc.ca/scc-csc/qualifications-fra.html.

B. Comité consultatif indépendant (CCI)

3. Quel a été le processus du CCI?

Le CCI a étudié les demandes reçues par l’intermédiaire du Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale. Le CCI a évalué le dossier des candidats potentiels en fonction des qualifications et des critères d’évaluation rendus publics, notamment les qualifications exigées par la loi et d’autres critères (http://www.fja-cmf.gc.ca/scc-csc/qualifications-fra.html). La tradition de la représentation régionale à la Cour a été l’un des facteurs pris en considération par le CCI afin d’identifier des candidats qualifiés qui sont des juristes haut niveau, effectivement bilingues et représentatifs de la diversité du Canada. Le CCI a consulté la juge en chef de la Cour suprême du Canada et d’autres intervenants clés au sujet des candidats potentiels.

4. Quels ont été les critères employés?

Tous les candidats devaient satisfaire les critères prescrits dans la Loi sur la Cour suprême, notamment occuper ou avoir occupé le poste de juge à une cour supérieure provinciale ou avocats inscrits pendant au moins dix ans au barreau d’une province. Les candidats devaient également être effectivement bilingues.

Les candidatures ont été évaluées en fonction des aptitudes et expériences personnelles suivantes : connaissance supérieure démontrée du droit; aptitudes analytiques supérieures; capacité de résoudre des problèmes juridiques complexes; conscience du contexte social dans lequel les litiges surviennent et capacité à résumer les renseignements pertinents; clarté de pensée se manifestant particulièrement dans l’écrit; capacité à travailler dans des délais très serrés tout en examinant attentivement et avec diligence un volume important de documents écrits dans tous les domaines du droit; engagement à l’égard du service public.

Les candidatures ont également été évaluées en fonction des qualités personnelles suivantes : intégrité personnelle et professionnelle irréprochable; respect et considération envers les autres; capacité de tenir compte d’opinions, de points de vue et d’expériences de vie variés, y compris concernant des groupes traditionnellement désavantagés de la société canadienne; force morale; discrétion; ouverture d’esprit.

Enfin, le comité consultatif a tenu compte des besoins institutionnels suivants de la Cour : assurer un équilibre raisonnable entre l’expertise en droit public et en droit privé, en tenant compte des tendances historiques de répartition de ces domaines dans les appels à la Cour suprême; détenir une expertise dans tout sujet précis dont il est régulièrement question dans les appels et qui est actuellement sous-représentée à la Cour; veiller à ce que les membres de la Cour suprême reflètent de façon raisonnable la diversité de la société canadienne.

5. Comment le bilinguisme fonctionnel a-t-il été évalué dans le cadre du processus du CCI?

Les candidats devaient indiquer leur degré de compétence dans les deux langues officielles dans leur dossier de candidature. Le Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale a évalué individuellement certains candidats afin de vérifier leur compréhension des arguments écrits et oraux ainsi que pour déterminer si les candidats pouvaient s’exprimer dans les deux langues officielles.

6. Quel poids a eu la représentation régionale dans le processus de sélection du CCI?

La représentation régionale était l’un des facteurs pris en compte. Cela était clairement indiqué dans les critères rendus publics, dont l’engagement à nommer des juges qui sont effectivement bilingues. Le processus de sélection devait conserver un degré approprié de flexibilité afin de trouver un équilibre entre les besoins institutionnels et les aptitudes, expériences et qualités personnelles des candidats.

7. Combien de noms le Comité consultatif indépendant a-t-il soumis au premier ministre?

Le Comité a soumis une liste de présélection de cinq candidats.

C. Processus relatif à la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada

8. Quel a été le processus suivi par la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada?

La ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada a mené un examen exhaustif et rigoureux de la jurisprudence et des publications spécialisées des candidats. Elle a également mené de robustes consultations auprès de la juge en chef du Canada, de la présidente du Comité consultatif indépendant, des procureurs généraux pertinents, des ministres du Cabinet, des membres du Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes, des membres du Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles et des porte-parole de l’opposition en matière de justice. 

9. Quels intervenants ont été consultés?

Le gouvernement a consulté tous les partis officiels à la Chambre des communes pour s’assurer que le processus de nomination des juges à la Cour suprême du Canada était ouvert et transparent et qu’il rehaussait la norme en matière de reddition de comptes. Pendant la mise en place du Comité consultatif indépendant, le gouvernement a consulté des représentants de la magistrature et du milieu juridique, y compris : le Conseil canadien de la magistrature, l’Association du Barreau canadien, la Fédération des ordres professionnels de juristes du Canada et le Conseil des doyens et doyennes des facultés de droit du Canada. La ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada a également consulté des Canadiens éminents et respectés à l’extérieur du milieu juridique. Plus de renseignements à ce sujet se trouveront dans le rapport du Comité consultatif indépendant.

D. Candidat retenu

10. Si le candidat retenu est nommé, quelle sera la durée de sa nomination et quel sera son salaire?

Les juges à la Cour suprême du Canada reçoivent un salaire annuel de 373 900 $ (en date du 1er avril 2016) et peuvent exercer leurs fonctions à titre inamovible jusqu’à l’âge de 75 ans.

11. Y a-t-il eu une controverse lors du choix du candidat retenu?

Tous les candidats proposés ont fait l’objet d’évaluations exhaustives de la part du Comité consultatif indépendant et de la ministre de la Justice ainsi que d’une vérification par les autorités de sécurité du Canada. Éléments évalués et vérifiés :

  • Évaluation des qualités personnelles en fonction des critères suivants : intégrité personnelle et professionnelle irréprochable; respect et considération envers les autres; capacité de tenir compte d’opinions, de points de vue et d’expériences de vie variés, y compris concernant des groupes traditionnellement désavantagés de la société canadienne; force morale; discrétion; ouverture d’esprit.
  • Examen complet de la jurisprudence, des écrits spécialisés et des publications professionnelles du candidat.
  • Vérification intensive des antécédents de sécurité.

Le candidat retenu a réussi toutes ces évaluations et vérifications.

12. Est-ce que le candidat retenu a fait l’objet d’une vérification de sécurité rigoureuse avant sa nomination?

Tous les candidats devaient faire l’objet d’une vérification de sécurité en quatre étapes, comme l’indique le formulaire de consentement à la vérification des antécédents sur le site du Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale.

E. Audience spéciale devant le Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne

13. À quoi l’audience sert-elle?

L’audience donnera l’occasion aux parlementaires de mieux comprendre : 1) le processus de diligence raisonnable et de consultation utilisé par le gouvernement et 2) les raisons pour lesquelles ce candidat a été retenu. De cette façon, les Canadiens pourront mieux connaître le candidat retenu et mieux comprendre le rôle et la fonction de la Cour suprême du Canada ainsi que l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada à l’égard de l’ouverture, de la transparence et de la diversité afin de s’assurer que notre magistrature préserve sa réputation d’excellence. ‎

14. Qui seront les participants?

L’honorable ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, Jody Wilson-Raybould, et la présidente du Comité consultatif indépendant sur la nomination des juges de la Cour suprême du Canada, la très honorable Kim Campbell, seront présentes.

Les membres du Comité sur la justice de la Chambre des communes pourront poser des questions à la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada et à la présidente du Comité consultatif indépendant.

F.  Séance de questions et réponses avec le candidat retenu

15. À quoi sert la séance de questions et réponses à venir avec le candidat retenu? 

Elle donnera l’occasion aux Canadiens d’apprendre à connaître le candidat nommé au plus haut tribunal de notre pays.

16. Où la séance aura-t-elle lieu?

Le candidat retenu prendra part à une séance de discussion ouverte animée par un professeur de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa le 25 octobre 2016.

17. Qui peut y assister?

Les parlementaires, des invités spéciaux et des étudiants en droit de partout au pays.

18. Qui pourra poser des questions au candidat retenu?

Les parlementaires suivants pourront poser des questions : les membres du Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes, les membres du Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles et certains députés du Bloc québécois et du Parti vert.

19. Comment le modérateur de l’événement a-t-il été sélectionné?

Le premier ministre choisira le modérateur.